In the City of Puerto Principe, on the 4th of July, 1851, the provisional Junta of Representatives of the Island of Cuba, having assembled at the house of the President, Dn. Agustin Aguero, it was determined:--that, in consideration of the calamities and hard oppressions, which all natives of the country are suffering,--the taxes and forced contributions, to which they are daily more and more subjected, for the maintenance of an oppressive army, and the support of a countless multitude of public officers, besides all the peninsular salaries which are paid for in this Island; and, in view, moreover, of the vexations and degradations which are daily experienced from the government, which treacherously usurps our rights, by depriving us of representation,-- said degraded Spanish Government, which is controlled by two disreputable women, to the scandal of all civilized nations, denouncing us, as base colonists;-- and, out of regard for the general wish of all the people of the Island, besides other considerations of much weight,-- the Island of Cuba is unanimously declared to be independent of the Government and Peninsula of Spain, in order that she may be recognized, in the face of the world, as an independent nation, which has spontaneously placed itself under the protection and auspices of the Republic of the United States, whose form of Government we have adopted.--

Given in the City of Puerto Principe, on the 4th of July, 1851-- Agustin Aguero y Aguero, Representative for Puerto Principe.= A. M. Fajardo, ditto for Havana:= S. C. for Villa Clara:= T. E. for Cuba:= F. M. for Baracoa:= H. C. S. for Bayamo:= C. F. for Matanzas:= F. D. for Remedios:= C. Z. M. for Guanajay y Mariel:= F. P. for Bahia Honda y San Diego:= Y. A. for Pinar de Rio y Colonia:= M. M. for Mantua:=

The above is a true copy of the original, which is preserved in the Archives of Puerto Principe. Jn. Ml. Aguero, Secretary